Addis Ababa / Photos

African Union Complex at Night

The construction is still underway on the new AU center in Addis, but its taken enough shape for one to realize that it looks like a launch pad for flying saucers.  The  big dome is actually the conference complex, which I believe is operational.  I also believe that the main tower is now the tallest building in Addis.  This building is high on my list of architectural spectacles in Ethiopia, but it is not above the likes of the Ethio-Saudi Center – the only building I have ever seen that reminds me of an insect.  I’ll try and get a photo of that one soon.  It really is outrageous.

Leave a Reply

